Here Comes the Chef!


“As long as I am an American citizen and American blood runs in these veins I shall hold myself at liberty to speak, to write, and to publish whatever I please on any subject.” – Elijah Parish Lovejoy (1802-1837)

Hello Questioning with Boldness (QwB) World!  I know that sounds like a birth announcement …well maybe that’s appropriate for me here at QwB.

Let me introduce myself as Chef. You may be asking yourself if QwB is expanding into recipe sharing and cooking advice, the answer is no (unless you have culinary questions that I will be happy to answer!).  I am a professional Chef with 30 years of experience in the culinary world.  However, more important here, I am a deeply concerned citizen and Christian political commentator in, my “other life” if you will.

Anyone who follows me on facebook  also knows that I can get a bit “salty” in my language.  I will try to mediate that here and make a promise to you dear reader that I will not use gratuitous “salty” language.  If I offend you, please forgive me in advance since I am a guest here.  Also, please do not hold QwB for opinions expressed by me since they are my own and not necessarily the opinions of QwB officially.

How did a Chef get here?  Some years ago (1989) I ran for local school board.  I did so because I didn’t like what was going on in our local PS system.  My then young son was getting ready to start school and I decided it was time to start educating myself about the local school system.  Through some Christian friends I was asked to join a small recently locally formed group affiliated with Citizens for Excellent in Education (CEE) ( http://www.nace-cee.org), it was started by Dr. Robert Simonds  and according to their official website:

“Citizens For Excellence in Education (CEE) exists to help parents and public school teachers across the United States.  Since 1983, NACE/CEE has worked with Christians and conservatives to restore academic excellence and traditional moral values to the public schools.  We also provide tools to help strengthen and nurture Christian families at home. CEE is now also helping parents rescue their children from public schools to private Christian schools and home schools, and rescue their children within the public  schools, with our major new focus: Rescue 2010.”

During that same time I had also been teaching in a nondenominational religious educational after school program that taught non-churched children about Christ.  The further I got involved with CEE, the more I realized what awful place public schools were and NOT the place for my young son.  My husband and I ultimately decided to send our son to Christian school.  It was about that time that I also got bit by the political bug and ran for the local school board.  I lost mainly because I was attacked as a right wing extremist, those who won were liberal and very well placed in the community.  However, I was asked to become an ad hoc member of the board as a community member. It was a win for me.  I was forever hooked on politics; it became a lifelong passion (much to the chagrin of my dear hubster) along with my culinary career.

Some years later after I had raised my children I was looking for something to occupy my time (keep me out of trouble).  With my passion for writing, politics and food I decided I needed to combine my passions into a blog called “The Political Chef” (http://thepoliticalchef.wordpress.com). Here I could vent my growing alarm about the direction of my country with my own snarky political styling of commentary and musings. I originally wrote on the google blogspot platform and became alarmed with intrusiveness of google (before it was cool) and stopped writing for several years.  The WordPress platform is my newest blog although I haven’t written much there to date. I hope to cross post as well as share some different things there so keep checking there!

As you might imagine with my Conservative Christian bent most people  didn’t get the “right-winger” Chef who shared her political rants against intrusive government, asinine governmental policies, her chagrin & growing incredulousness and disbelief in the policies of leftists and marxists in the government, a growing disillusionment with the GOP and stupid politicians in general AND her latest dessert recipe…I thought it was a great niche…

I lost lots of “old” friends because of my “unique point of view” and at that point I decided that I was instituting an Ann Coulter like attitude along with an a**hole free zone…It was liberating!

As  I renewed my interest in American history, I also went to college for the first time as a middle age co-ed (another whole story in and of itself), found face-book and my fellow Patriots, my writing became more pointed and sarcastic, I had found my forte.  I will pull no punches dear reader; you will NOT have a problem finding my point of view.

Anyhoo…I will share more about myself as we get to know each other better (ya just can’t wait can ya!)…

About Kelly Digby Realty

My hubster & I have been married for almost 35 yrs (seems like yesterday). We are empty-nesters with 2 handsome sons & 2 beautiful daughters-in-law. We also have a large adopted family that are very special to us! I am a not-so-perfect Christian-in-the-making, a wife, a mother, professional Chef, writer & paralegal. I went to college at 50 and graduated with my Bachelors degree 4 years later. We moved to S.C. 7 years ago and love our new home and the Southern culture and our friends and family. I love chocolate, cheesecake and putting a smile on folks & family's faces by creating special meals and sweet treats for them. My passion is to find the best darn chocolate and eat it all! Life cannot & should not exist without great chocolate! Life is short eat dessert first! Till next time ya'll!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here Comes the Chef!

  1. Awesome… simply awesome. I see good stuff coming from this, Chef!

  2. Pingback: Last night’s links – 6/24/2011 « Fleece Me

Leave a Reply

