Obama: I Didn’t Have Time to be a Good President – From WhiteHouseDossier


Here is an interesting article from one of my longtime favorite sites, www.whitehousedossier.com which is run by Keith Koffler. It is great look into the inside of the White House and the goings on there. He mixes satire in occasionally while giving us a great bit of info that you can’t get elsewhere. Please check his page out frequently. It is listed on my blogroll to the right as well. My commentary on this is at the very end. I have some serious concerns over something I observe in the President’s comments.

Obama: I Didn’t Have Time to be a Good President

by Keith Koffler on November 15, 2010, 9:49 am

I gotta tell you, if my kid came up with this one, I’d send him straight to his room.

“Excuse me, you didn’t HAVE TIME to do what you promised? Go upstairs. NOW!”

Check out President Obama’s comments to the press pool yesterday aboard Air Force One as it ferried him back to Washington from his ten-day Asia trip.

As I said in the press conference the day after the election, I spent the first two years trying to get policy right based on my best judgment about how we were going to deal with the short-term crisis and how we were going to retool to compete in this new global economy.

In that obsessive focus on policy, I neglected some things that matter a lot to people, and rightly so:  maintaining a bipartisan tone in Washington; dealing with practices like earmarks that are wasteful at a time of — where everybody else is tightening their belts; making sure that the policy decisions that I made were fully debated with the American people and that I was getting out of Washington and spending more time shaping public opinion and being in a conversation with the American people about why I was making the choices I was making.

So I think, moving forward, I’m going to redouble my efforts to go back to some of those first principles.  And the fact that we are out of crisis — although still, obviously, in a difficult time — I think will give me the capacity to do that.

Are you trying to tell me, Mr. President, that YOU DIDN’T HAVE TIME TO VETO BILLS WITH EARMARKS? How, much out of your day would it have taken to say, “Nancy, get the earmarks off the bills or I’ll send them right back.”

Poor President Obama. He was so focused on trying to do good, that he became OBSESSED with doing good, and it got him off track. He just didn’t have the bandwith for bipartisanship or “conversations” with the American people. Or earmarks.

I guess this was also good news for Ahmadinejad and Mullah Omar, since I haven’t seen much Obama OBSESSION with keeping Iran from getting nukes or for galvanizing the American people to support the war in Afghanistan.

Maybe that’s why Obama is kicking and screaming to get out of Afghanistan by setting withdrawal dates, so he can PURSUE HIS OTHER OBSESSIONS.

Geez, I only hope that the president can start leading a more balanced life, eating healthier, experiencing spiritual growth, and so forth. If anyone can recommend some good self-help books that may assist the president, I would be grateful, and I know he would be too.

Here are my thoughts on this…

“And the fact that we are out of crisis — although still, obviously, in a difficult time — I think will give me the capacity to do that.”

This part really got me. Here we sit looking at a man who is finally acknowledging that somehow he might have been out of touch with the people. Those very same people are saying that he is out of touch with reality. I understand that he may think that a crisis is over… but I’m having a hard time identifying which crisis is truly over. Not only that, but his very words here point to how delusional he is. You don’t have to be clairvoyant to realize that despite a shift in Congress, we are likely headed further down a road of crises beyond what most of us have seen in our lifetimes. We are facing an almost insurmountable deficit, an economy that is adrift at sea, and the dollar is about to go up in flames thanks the Fed’s monetary policy. On top of our domestic woes that will become crises in their own rights, we are staring nuclear proliferation in the face all over again. Iran seems hell-bent on covertly building a bomb and with their new pact with Syria. We are becoming more indebted to China and they are eagerly buying up America piece by piece. We are funding the Lebanese Army, which is upsetting our closest thing to an ally anymore, Israel. We have an intrusion on our border to the south that has so many possible angles that we need to address as a nation to protect our sovereignty. And let’s not overlook the crisis that we are about to undertake within our government as we enter an era of gridlock, filibusters, and corruption investigations that will cause even more domestic unrest with the voting mass.

This entry was posted in Conservatism, Current Issues, Economy, Ethics, Government, President Obama and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

